Connecticut Restaurant Association 2014 Voting Open Now: VOTE!

27 Oct

The Connecticut Restaurant Association gathers once a year to honor the best of the best in the Connecticut restaurant scene. This year they are gathering on December 2 at Mohegan Sun for their Salute to Excellence Awards Dinner. If you’d like to attend tickets are $150 per person or $130 if you’re a member, but the reason we’re writing you today is for you to get out there and do some voting! 

Just click through the image up above or here and get your votes in for Upscale Restaurant of the Year, Casual Restaurant of the Year, Chef of the Year, Caterer of the Year, Mixologist of the Year, and Server of the Year. Voting is now live and goes until 11/10 at 5 pm. Remember that there’s only one vote per e-mail address, though!

And, wouldn’t you know it, but Fairfield County is well represented here with The Whelk up for Upscale Restaurant, Geronimo and Local Kitchen up for Casual Restaurant, Chef Renato Donzelli of Basso Cafe up for Top Chef, Marcia Selden Catering for Top Caterer, and Adam Patrick of Match for Top Mixologist. Great restaurants, great people…now vote!

Here’s the list to peruse, btw…

Upscale Restaurant of the Year

  • 85 Main, Putnam
  • Oyster Club, Mystic
  • The Whelk, Westport
  • Restaurant Bricco, West Hartford
  • Union League Cafe, New Haven
Casual Restaurant of the Year
  • Dog Watch Cafe, Stonington
  • Willimantic Brewing Company, Willimantic
  • Flanders Fish Market, East Lyme
  • Geronimo Tequila Bar & Southwest Grill, New Haven & Fairfield
  • Local Kitchen & Craft Beer Bar, Fairfield & Norwalk
  • Joey Garlic’s, Newington & Farmington
Chef of the Year
  • Renato Donzelli, Basso Cafe, Norwalk
  • Neil Fuentes, Jojoto Restaurant, Branford 
  • Jean Pierre Vuillermet, Union League Cafe, New Haven
  • Tyler Anderson, Millwright’s Restaurant & Tavern, Simsbury
Caterer of the Year
Mixologist of the Year
  • Adam Patrick, Match Restaurant, South Norwalk
  • Derek Vitale, Max’s Oyster Bar, West Hartford
  • Mary Bowler, Red Hen Restaurant, Old Saybrook
Server of the Year
  • Bruce Mazy, Sage American Grill & Oyster Bar, New Haven
  • Nancy Tighe, Fresh Salt, Old Saybrook
  • Pam Evans, Birch Hill Tavern, Glastonbury
  • Jon Forsythe, Stonebridge Restaurant, Milford

2 Responses to “Connecticut Restaurant Association 2014 Voting Open Now: VOTE!”

  1. talkavino October 27, 2014 at 10:57 pm #

    This is interesting that most of the nominees are located outside of the Fairfield county… May be they should call these “the other Connecticut awards” ?


    • Dan and Kristien Del Ferraro October 28, 2014 at 4:56 pm #

      It seems to change each year, though we still have a pretty nice representation considering all the counties that we have here in CT. The only category that FFLD County isn’t in is the Server of the Year.

      Just from what we know and what we’ve had outside the county, those are definitely some great choices, though, even if they’re not here in our humble county. :)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: