The CT Chefs Challenge competitors dish about their game plans to defeat opponents

10 Sep

It’s hard to believe, but The Connecticut Chefs Challenge (see our post here) is just around the corner, coming up next Friday, September 18 at 7 pm. On that day, eight of the toughest chefs in CT will compete to win the grand title belt and reign as champion as the winner of the 2015 Connecticut Chef Challenge. The culinary mayhem will break out at the Lincoln Culinary Institute in Shelton and will be a definite ticket to get at just $50 for general admission or $100 for VIP. That not only gets you a killer event hosted by Chef Plum, but also free beer and wine, apps, a buffet, coffee, dessert, and a sizable donation of The Optimus Foundation!

Connecticut Chefs Challenge Winners Belt!Well, the instigators that we are, we thought it would be fun to get the chefs going and ready to battle, so we asked them two questions:

1. How are you going to rise to the top and beat all the other chef competitors?

2. Which opponent are you keeping your eyes on during the CT Chefs Challenge?

So, let’s do this:

Adam Bedini from StrEATery food truck
Adam Bedini from StrEATery food truck is ready to take down the other chefs

1) Keep my mind right and focus on the task at hand. Try not to drink too much the night before hahaha. But seriously, practice, practice, and more practice. A lot of thought went into the plate I picked after many changes and concerns.

2) Not really anyone in particular, I think it’s going to be a great time and I wish all the competitors the best of luck!

Justin Kern of The Meeting House Pub

Justin Kern of The Meeting House Pub . . . will he be able to stand the barbs and harassment of host Chef Plum?

1) It’s all about execution. Making sure that all elements are cohesive and on the finished plates. Also, not getting too tied up in Plums Q&A for too long! LOL 

2) You have to watch everyone! Styles are all different, so I can’t say anyone has a leg up in that. If I have to choose, I’d say Mark, the winner from last year. He has a lot of years in this business and he came correct last year and won.

Joshua Morosi from A Chef's Choice

Joshua Morosi from A Chef’s Choice blows the kiss of death to all the chef competitors!

1) My culinary prowess and skill will beat anyone (plus my credentials and work speaks for itself). I can’t be stopped at this point in my career! Bottom line: if you ain’t first, you’re last!
2) I am keeping an eye on Chef Plum making me an awesome culinary belt!
Mark Vecchitto from Seehund German Pub

Mark Vecchitto from Seehund German Pub, photo courtesy of Mark Vecchitto

1) I thought a lot about this question and came to this conclusion, I don’t premeditate what i’m going to do . . . I just wing it. Works for me.

2) I don’t care about who is doing what around me, the only people I keep my eyes on are the judges.

Carol Koty from The Waterview and Lockwood Lodge

Carol Koty from The Waterview and Lockwood Lodge

1) I have been competing in culinary battles across the United States for the past eight years.  I know what it takes to rise to the top in any competition.  My focus is completely on my food.  At the end of the day, the judges are looking for a dish with the best taste, creativity, and presentation.  I am definitely going to bring it!  My culinary style is to blend classic American comfort dishes with an international flair that is exciting and irresistible.  I am sticking to my roots, honoring the flavors of a New England autumn while capturing the essence of Normandy, France.  I am obsessed with how fabulous this plate of deliciousness has developed, and I can’t wait to present it to the judges at the competition!

2) I am definitely keeping my eye on Jason Maur at the CT Chef’s Challenge this year.  He is a dear friend of mine, and we have been working together at The Waterview for about seven years.  I know what he is capable of, and I am excited to see what he is planning to pull out for this competition.  We will definitely be cheering each other on during our rounds.  That said, I plan on walking away as the champion at the end of the night, so I am most certainly taking him down.  Guess he will have to settle for that second place position.  Let’s rock this!

Carlos Baez from The Spread

Carlos Baez from The Spread, photo used courtesy of Andrew Dominick of Food Dudes

1) I grew up cooking since I was 16 and my parents taught me a lot of tricks. I’m going to put my heart on all the plates that night . . . everything I do, I do it with a lot of passion.  I really enjoy cooking, so anything I do is with a lot of love.
 
2) I come a long way.  I don’t need to keep my eyes on any of the chefs, they actually need to keep their eyes on me. I gonna be their nightmare!
Jason Maur from MaurPowerFoodie

Jason Maur from MaurPowerFoodie is hoping to slice up the competition!

1) I am taking down the competition with my creative approach to cooking. I am definitely the wild card in this challenge. Nobody, possibly with the exception of Chef Carol, really knows what to expect from me because there is not that much out there on my cooking yet. I am the new blood of CT cooking and I do things differently. Most of the points here come from taste and originality…. so that is what I am going to give the judges. The best tasting dish and the most creative dish. Plus, since my time on MasterChef, I have taught myself some new plating tricks, so I think I am not only going to give all these trained chefs a run for their money, but I am going to turn some heads doing it and give the judges a meal they are not soon to forget.

2) There are a couple of competitors I am really keeping my eye on. Carol and I are good friends and go way back. I know how strong she is and what she can bring to the table.  I will be rooting for her the whole way (to come in 2nd behind me) but she is the only one who knows my cooking style and what I can really do, so I could see her taking a page out of my book to stay on the originality level with me. But I still have some tricks up my sleeve.  Plus, as the only female in the lot this year, knowing Carol, she will be out there with something to prove. When you have judges the caliber as we have for the CT Chefs Challenge this year, that is where the pressure comes from, because you know they will see, taste, and point out every mistake you make. 

That’s right all of you, I am coming, I am bringing my A-Game, and you better watch out. Oh, and as for last year’s winner, Chef Mark, welcome to a brand new challenge with competitors unlike anything you have ever seen! MaurPower is here to stay in the CT food world and this is just the beginning.

5 Responses to “The CT Chefs Challenge competitors dish about their game plans to defeat opponents”

  1. MaurPowerFoodie September 10, 2015 at 3:08 pm #

    So excited! My dish is killer, my sous chef is fierce, and we are ready for a battle! #MaurPower

    Like

  2. MaurPowerFoodie September 10, 2015 at 3:06 pm #

    Reblogged this on MaurPowerFoodie and commented:
    Check out this feature on #MaurPowerFoodie and the rest of the #CTChefs Competitors! #CTChefChallenge

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Registration Open for 2016 CT Chefs Challenge w/ MAJOR Prizes at Stake | OmNomCT - April 8, 2016

    […] had a blast year at the 2015 CT Chefs Challenge and were so proud to be one of the partners for the event. Some of the areas best chefs did battle […]

    Like

  2. Win Two Tix to Friday’s Connecticut Chefs Challenge 2015! | OmNomCT - September 14, 2015

    […] Here are the chefs who will be competing (and you could also check out our interview of each competitor here): […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

